The Yorkshire Three Peaks route

The three peaks of the Yorkshire Three Peaks are arranged in a triangle, with the River Ribble and two minor B roads between them. The total walking distance is 39.2km (24.5 miles).

The Yorkshire Three Peaks includes, Pen-y-Ghent, Whernside and Ingleborough. The route can be started from Horton-in-Ribblesdale, Ribblehead or Chapel le Dale, and is a circular route finishing at the same point.

Ordnance Survey Explorer OL2 (at the Three Peaks Shop) is the map required for the complete route.

Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge Start Points

There are three possible start points for the Yorkshire Three Peaks, and you can walk in either direction - clockwise or anti-clockwise.

The postcodes for these start points are:

  • Horton-in-Ribblesdale — BD24 0HE (lots of parking, £4 for the day, very busy at weekends)
  • Ribblehead — LA6 3AS (some free parking)
  • Chapel le Dale — LA6 3AR (limited free parking, usually quiet)

Yorkshire Three Peaks Route

Markers show the start/finish point and the two refreshment points on our Open Yorkshire Three Peaks events.

See the map in full screen.

Route Profile

Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge route profile

Yorkshire Three Peaks GPX Route Downloads

For GPS routes in the GPX format, please see below — routes are included for the three start locations. Right click and select 'Save As', and copy to your device.

Yorkshire Route Map

For Yorkshire maps, patches, badges and medals, please see the Three Peaks Shop.

OS Explorer OL2, Yorkshire Dales

OS Explorer OL2 Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge Map, Yorkshire Dales Southern & Western Areas

Buy from Three Peaks Shop

Please don't bring single-use plastics

Help preserve the beauty of our mountain landscapes by not bringing single-use plastics to the area.

Follow the Countryside Code.

Contact Upcoming events

Three Peaks Challenge Ltd logo®

Page last updated at 23:19, on the 6th August 2023. Copyright © 2023 Three Peaks Challenge Ltd.

Three Peaks Challenge Ltd is a company registered in England and Wales. Our company registration number is 06993751. Our VAT registration is GB998704845.
The Three Peaks Challenge Logo is a registered trademark of Three Peaks Challenge Ltd.